MWL, Results for Race 1, FVS in 4th Position

Superb turnout for the first race in the 2014 MWL series with more helpers than we could find jobs for and 56 runners as well. Well done everybody and thank you all.

A brilliant performance by the ladies team secured 2nd position in the ladies race and kept FVS out of the relegation zone in 4th position overall on the same points as Trent Park in 3rd.

New member Helen Nuttall led the ladies home in 7th position of 113 females taking part in a time of 40:50 with Maddie Pritchard 2nd in a new PB time of 42:04, almost 2 minutes quicker than her previous PB, and Claire Haddleton 3rd Spartan lady in a SB time of 44:06, closely followed by Tracy Pez in a new SB time of her own, 44:11. Michelle Reeves smashed her PB by more than 6 minutes to 45:32, as did Clare Moore by 1:37 to 47:30. Julie Simmons beat her 2013 Stevenage MWL time by 25 seconds in 48:10 to finish 2nd V55 overall and 7th Spartan lady and new member Hazel Clark completed the scoring for the A team in 48:34 in her first 10k with the club.

The FVS ladies B team also finished 2nd of the B teams with 7 PBs and 1 SB by Dawn Easby, Lisa Gray, Isabel Green, Ruth Reilly, Kerstin Weiner, Jeanette Collins, Hayley Faulkner and Felicity Evans, with PB times also by Sophie Cowan, Sue Hamer & Julie Shadbolt and SBs for Maria Thorne, Lorraine Thomas & Penny Armstrong.

The men’s team secured 5th position led home by Grant Ramsay 1st Vet 40 and 2nd vet overall (of 129 runners) in 11th position overall (of 193), beating his 2013 Stevenage MWL time by 46 seconds in 34:36, with Simon Jackson 2nd Spartan man home in 15th position overall, beating his 2013 time by 16 seconds to 35:16, and with Andy Patterson 3rd man in a new PB time of 35:54. A welcome return by Brian Brackstone saw him finish 4th Spartan in a new SB time of 36:40, closely followed by new member Keith Coughlin 39:16 and Todd Gray 40:47.

There were also PB improvements by Kieran Feetham (+4:31), Matthew Gill (+2:06) & Andrew Jordan (+3:41); first time PBs by Paul Whyte, Andy Churn, Paul Maguire, Callum Beasley, Nick Emmett, David Peach, Dave Shaw & Peter Carpenter; and, SB times by Pete Smith, Mark Beasley, Lee Lawrence, James Day, Mark Freeman, Rob Shaw & Nick Stewart.

The second fixture is in Chingford on Wednesday the 4th June. Please do come along if you possibly can – the more runners we can get out the better our team score can be, and if you would prefer to travel by coach rather than car/car share please any of the committee know at the club, by phone or email or on the forum.

Hope to see you all on the 4th June.

Full results: Race1Div1

Leave a Reply